Return to Uniden HomePatrol Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 6
Previous    Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
HomePatrol January 4, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Wilton, CT United States  
Some nice features......but next to my Pro-197, HomePatrol sound quality and volume is poor as is the scan speed.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
HomePatrol Software (Sentinel) December 16, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
ArcPatrol is not the software supplied with the HomePatrol, Sentinel is. ArcPatrol is not owned by Uniden and while a capable product for creating and updating HomePatrol Favorites, Sentinel by itself is very capable of taking care of all the programming functions of the HomePatrol.

Was this review helpful to you?

  6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
Re:review December 11, 2011
Reviewer: Bob S from Arvada, CO United States  
Having had the Home Patrol for a week, I think its a good scanner, but it has much room for improvement, they could start with the ARC Patrol software. Then do something with the poor sound quality. I 've compared this scanner side by side with my other scanners and the sound is poor and not much volume. My next scanner will be the     BCD996xt, I have early version of this and it's great. I think the Home Patrol is great for travel but not a  base use scanner. PLEASE UNIDEN DO SOMETHING ABOUT YOUR SOFTWARE!!!! If you use this scanner in your car, you'll need a speaker.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Uniden Home Patrol December 11, 2011
Reviewer: Gary Galloway from Monroe, LA United States  
I have owned numerous scanners in the past.  This unit is by far the superior!


Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Not worth the money! Unless... November 30, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Lexington, MA United States  
If you are looking for a plug and play radio and you don't mind listening to everything and having to slog through a bunch of steps to lock out what you don't want to hear this is the radio for you.  Just as the description on this site says more advanced users would be happier with the traditional models.  I own the 996's and others and wish I had taken the advice offered before buying.  Uniden has again stuck it to the consumer by forcing you to pay for programming software/upgrades.   The programming software (ARC) and Unidens I think stink.  Also the scanning is SLOW when going scanning the MSP trunk system even with everything locked out except for A and H troops.  Bottom line is if you are totally lazy and don't want to program a radio this is for you.  I hate it and cant wait to unload it on someone else.  I think it's a Uniden flop!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Car Mount Device November 11, 2011
Reviewer: Franklin P Earley from Big Spring, TX United States  
I went to A/C company that builds duct work air  conditioners. An employee there folded some tin into a shape that holds the radio and slides partly into the space between the tilting steering column and the dashboard. It moves up and down with the steering wheel, works like a charm.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Home patrol1 October 25, 2011
Reviewer: Fred ham radio guy. from White Bear Lake, MN United States  
This is an excellent radio! However when making favorites list you may want to review just what you may have saved and are not using with Sentinal. I live in Ramsay county Minnesota and if I save 1 service here the entire state matrix is saved but not used. This makes scanning very SLOW!!. I found that if I delete the unused counties in the right screen scanning is very quick... Works perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great radio lousy software October 3, 2011
Reviewer: Jim from Paducah, KY United States  
Good luck installing the Sentinel software.  I have two computers running Windows 7.  I couldn't get it to work on either.  Uniden supports help?  Try another computer!  Returned a radio I really liked!

Update:  If you upgrade Windows Vista to Windows 7 apparently a net framework file is missing.  After a clean install of Windows 7 the Sentinel software works fine.  I would now give the Homepatrol 5 stars.  I have ordered a new radio.

Was this review helpful to you?

  5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Not all that good August 2, 2011
Reviewer: John Luther from Stoneham, MA United States  
I was all excited when we got this scanner but my son has a mobile in his truck and the reception on his is 100 % better. This one is easy to program, probably to many stations but overall I am not happy with it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best Scanner Ever! July 28, 2011
Reviewer: Jerry Knight - N5MNX AKQ-2165 from Petersburg, VA United States  
I've been into radio, ham, cb, scanners for 45 years now. This is by far, the most dense, compact, yet powerful and easy to use scanner that I have ever seen. It's extreamly fast, has an awsome receiver and I fited it with an adapter to connect to my big dual band copper J-pole antenna and this baby picks up TOO MUCH! Had to start locking out channels that were all over the state. My only con, there are two police jurisdictions nearby me that I have even plugged in manually and nada, zip, nothing from them. I am not sure why. Easy to update firmware and databases with the supplied cable and software. I even have a place to put in my Storm Spotter Truck with an external antenna (bought here) that still works great! Thanks Uniden and Scanner Master!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Previous    Click to see more items