Return to Uniden Bearcat BCD536HP Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 4
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Absolute Best June 6, 2015
Reviewer: Don Alexander from Bandon, OR United States  
I have been a scanner user for over 40 years and had most types. This scanner surprises even me. It is easy to use, program, and I really like the new features (except WIFI - have no need for that). The all included memory data base is great.

I found the sentinel software easy to learn and it works great for my 436HP as well.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD536HP May 30, 2015
Reviewer: Barnard Hamlin from Fitzgerald, GA United States  
Great scanner! I am finding it to be as sensitive as my 996XT and 15X scanners. Nice sharp display. The Siren app works great with the wireless connection on my phone. The 536 is an excellent performer and am glad I have purchased this. The only annoying issue I have noted with this scanner is the fact that if you choose to use an external speaker it has to be an amplified speaker. I chose to use the Butel ARC536 software with it for greater control of managing favorites lists. But then again I have been a fan of Butel scanner software for many years. I should also note that Scanner Master processed and shipped my scanner right away. I was very impressed with the speed at which they got this to me.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
First Look at BCD536HP March 20, 2015
Reviewer: Richard B Plummer from westborough, MA United States  
Partvwaybupmlearningbcurve, see last sentence
REAL Problem, "must turn off before power disconnected" makes is unusable for most mobile applications.
I expected to have WiFi ready to go and smart phone app, it doesn't appear to have these at the moment.
As an early adopter, I expect product startup issues, but issues of power, USB and no fixed level output are not likely to get corrected with firmware updates and are REAL DRAWBACKS.
What I expect in a top of the line product is all I had before (i.e. 996XT) AND MORE not LESS.
I also need to interface to custom applications software for TAG interface, such as is used for Radio Reference, perhaps I can reverse engineer this, but this is tough work.
Sorry to be harsh, but I had high expectations and they weren't met.
Now on 3/20, a simple power failure caused an SD card error and Imwill need to reset and reenter my favorite.
It cant surviveva power failure.
THIS RADIO HAS SERIOUS DESIGN FLAWS. DO NOT BUY !

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Quick and Easy March 5, 2015
Reviewer: Jeremy Irwin from Houston, TX United States  
This is a great scanner for those looking to use it right out of the box and not have to mess with programming.  I had it out of the box, plugged in and scanning in less than 10 minutes.

I did however buy mine on Amazon because it's cheaper and you also get free shipping!  http://amzn.to/1wJRYiv

I recommend this scanner to anyone!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Top of the line BCD536HP February 21, 2015
Reviewer: Alexander P Bunn from Rocky Mount, NC United States  
After about 15 years of being absent from the scanner scene, I decided to get back into it.  Cranked up my old PRO-2052 and quickly realized it wasn't picking up as it used to.  Did some research and learned that everything had changed.  Did some more research, and decided that the BCD536HP was the best of the best, so despite not wanting to spend that much money, I bought one anyway.  All I can say is WOW, this thing is amazing.  Complicated, yet simple.  It is good to be listening again to what is going on in the area.  Buy it, you won't regret it.  Plus, it is capable of getting P25 Phase II, so if your area hasn't gone to that format yet, you are ready if it does.  Thank you Scannermaster.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
A fine radio January 30, 2015
Reviewer: Jason Low from Bragg Creek, AB Canada  
People report having problems with this radio. My only problem is that I don't have more of them. I have one in my house now and it's such a great performer that I need to find a way to get two more - one for my vehicle and one for work.

The sensitivity/reception is phenomenal compared to any other scanner I've used in the past 30 years. Digital decode on both a Motorola Type II P25-CAI system and a true P25 Phase 1 system is near-flawless.

It's true that there are some features as-yet unavailable and that they were promised to be available long before now. However, there's plenty of evidence that Uniden is doing its best to rectify that situation.

If you need a modern scanner that will receive P25 digital, both in phase 1 and phase 2 formats, and can live without the missing features for a while, this is your radio. (If you CAN'T live without the missing features for a while, no radio is your radio, because the x36 line is the only one that even has those features planned!)

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD536HP Starship January 6, 2015
Reviewer: Earl T from Oviedo, FL United States  
The BCD536HP is an excellent way to keep up with what is going on in your city. I purchased this scanner, the easy to read guide and I used Scanner Masters Setup & Optimization and I couldn't be happier. Scanner Master did an outstanding job for me and constantly kept me updated on the status of my purchase. Professional Products & Professional service!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Operation December 26, 2014
Reviewer: James Dwyer from Cambridge, MA United States  
Ex product, having trouble with the ARC software not getting the virtual control, and can not seem to hook up to WiFi. But overall great product.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Police Scanner Review December 8, 2014
Reviewer: William. Looney from Harwich, MA United States  
The BCD536 HP !                                                
Whow, whow and whow . No problems, no
complaints very happy! It is a winner all
around.                                                      
                                        Bill Looney

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
scanner July 29, 2014
Reviewer: LARRY HODNETT from HELENA, AL United States  
The radio itself seems to work pretty well.  The Sentinel software lacks many basic things for programming the scanner.  I can find no way to add a new favorite that does not require the database.  I cannot find a way to manually enter frequencies.  You also cannot print a list of your favorites.  I am not talking about the freqs, just the names.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items