The Nationís Oldest and Largest Scanner-Only Dealer
1-800-SCANNER
Return to Uniden Bearcat BCD536HP Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
A fine radio January 30, 2015
Reviewer: Jason Low from Bragg Creek, AB Canada  
People report having problems with this radio. My only problem is that I don't have more of them. I have one in my house now and it's such a great performer that I need to find a way to get two more - one for my vehicle and one for work.

The sensitivity/reception is phenomenal compared to any other scanner I've used in the past 30 years. Digital decode on both a Motorola Type II P25-CAI system and a true P25 Phase 1 system is near-flawless.

It's true that there are some features as-yet unavailable and that they were promised to be available long before now. However, there's plenty of evidence that Uniden is doing its best to rectify that situation.

If you need a modern scanner that will receive P25 digital, both in phase 1 and phase 2 formats, and can live without the missing features for a while, this is your radio. (If you CAN'T live without the missing features for a while, no radio is your radio, because the x36 line is the only one that even has those features planned!)

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD536HP Starship January 6, 2015
Reviewer: Earl T from Oviedo, FL United States  
The BCD536HP is an excellent way to keep up with what is going on in your city. I purchased this scanner, the easy to read guide and I used Scanner Masters Setup & Optimization and I couldn't be happier. Scanner Master did an outstanding job for me and constantly kept me updated on the status of my purchase. Professional Products & Professional service!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Operation December 26, 2014
Reviewer: James Dwyer from Cambridge, MA United States  
Ex product, having trouble with the ARC software not getting the virtual control, and can not seem to hook up to WiFi. But overall great product.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Police Scanner Review December 8, 2014
Reviewer: William. Looney from Harwich, MA United States  
The BCD536 HP !                                                
Whow, whow and whow . No problems, no
complaints very happy! It is a winner all
around.                                                      
                                        Bill Looney

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
First Look at BCD536HP November 13, 2014
Reviewer: Richard B Plummer from westborough, MA United States  
Part way up the learning curve, my comments:
Receive capability is great. Haven't tried X2TDMA.
Two types of USB interface, Serial/memory is difficult for remote ops.
Lack of a "Record" output, that is fixed level audio is a problem for our applications.
REAL Problem, "must turn off before power disconnected" makes is unusable for most mobile applications.
I expected to have WiFi ready to go and smart phone app, it doesn't appear to have these at the moment.
As an early adopter, I expect product startup issues, but issues of power, USB and no fixed level output are not likely to get corrected with firmware updates and are REAL DRAWBACKS.
What I expect in a top of the line product is all I had before (i.e. 996XT) AND MORE not LESS.
I also need to interface to custom applications software for TAG interface, such as is used for Radio Reference, perhaps I can reverse engineer this, but this is tough work.
Sorry to be harsh, but I had high expectations and they weren't met.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
scanner July 29, 2014
Reviewer: LARRY HODNETT from HELENA, AL United States  
The radio itself seems to work pretty well.  The Sentinel software lacks many basic things for programming the scanner.  I can find no way to add a new favorite that does not require the database.  I cannot find a way to manually enter frequencies.  You also cannot print a list of your favorites.  I am not talking about the freqs, just the names.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Scanner!! July 15, 2014
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Granbury, TX United States  
I have read a lot of reviews on this scanner and there was a lot of bad ones. Ranging from poor volume to weak signal.. I found none of this true. Very easy to set up had it up and running in just about 5 minuets. This is my 2nd digital scanner and the best one out of the 2 first one was a RadioShack.  I would recommend this to any one..

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
The New BCD536HP June 20, 2014
Reviewer: David C. from Central New Jersey - United States  
The concept of a digital scanner having the all the ease of programming and operation is truly incredible.  I believe this is the best scanner I've owned, in over thirty years of scanning emergency services.

Uniden has developed a winner with this one!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
bcd 536 hp May 28, 2014
Reviewer: Joe Jones from Garner, NC United States  
Had to have you guys program my GRE 600 & BCD 996XT I got from you in 2012 because it was too complicated for me. Finally, a top notch scanner for dummies like myself. I absolutely love it! Also like the normal size as opposed to the bigger, clunkier original Home Patrol version. Guess now I'm gonna have to order one of those racks to put them all in.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Scanner April 22, 2014
Reviewer: Edward White from Jersey City, NJ United States  
Uniden has added another Great scanner to their line. The Sentinel software is not that bad. The sound quality excellent, and the wifi connection makes it really easy to control the scanner when you are not close to it. Overall a good buy for the buck.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items