Low Price Guarantee

Programming Form
Media Systems
Restoration
Remote Monitoring
Wholesale & Govt
Online Scanners
Frequencies
Gift Certificates
Help Desk
About Us
Our Blog
FAQ

  Website Features
Official PayPal Seal
Click here for BBB Business Review
(Your shopping cart is empty)
Return to RadioShack PRO-197 Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Programing February 19, 2014
Reviewer: Jim from , Tyler, Texas  
Scanner is excellent fine quality but very hard to program if you can find someone to clone from it is very easy to clone.I do not know why Radio Shack stores should have one programed so they can clone customer radios to their area.This would promote more sells for sure and a lot more satisfied customers.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The best ever July 25, 2013
Reviewer: J Roth from Williamsburg, VA United States  
I have owned many scanners over the years (back to the crystal controlled 1970's era) and this is by far the best. Used it now for 2 years. The new scanners  are complicated but so are computers compared to pencil and paper. Using the programming cable to interface with the PC along with Radio Reference web, it was almost idiot proof to program exactly right. The RX sensitivity is perfect. The audio level and quality is superb. Display readability is great. The RS name means nothing here, it is a pure GRE like most of RS products. As a ham operator, it is a great backup to monitor the bands.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent Scanner October 18, 2012
Reviewer: Mark from Waldorf , MD  
I got it on sale on this very site can't beat a sale any day can we I have the scan cat lite soft wear so  I won't have any problem programing it

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
I love the Pro 197 March 10, 2012
Reviewer: Tim Wimmer from Newnan, GA United States  
My county recently went digital and I found the need for a new scanner.  I was a little worried about reviews of the complexity of both the Pro197 as well as the Uniden models.  I chose the 197 simply because it was on sale.  Great decision.  I live in a corner of a county that has several different radio systems in different counties that effect me around my home.  The object oriented programming allows me to build a "home area" single scanlist that includes objects from all of the important pieces of those different radio systems no matter if they are digital, analog, trunking or conventional.  I have also built Scan Lists that I can turn on and off quickly to expand the scanning to outlying areas in those systems.  

I have done all of this through the scanner control panel without computer software.  That's not to say I won't get some software to maintain it because pushing the control panel buttons a million times is a pain, but it is possible to get started without it.



Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Radio Shack Pro 197 scanner February 4, 2012
Reviewer: Charles Nevill from Cumberland Furnance, TN United States  
well don't get frustrated,,scanner master cannot get the programming right either. Now they want me to pay my money to ship it back and forth again for them to try again,, I don't think so. It said in one part of there review that if you have not programmed one of these before that it is a learning curve,,well they have not learned it yet either. I am going to really try my best to get this programmed my self but if not there are other companies..I have learned a very expensive lesson dealing with scanner master...Like the old saying goes,,well I will clean it up a bit,, screw me once shame on me screw me twice shame on you


Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Extremely complicated, BUY UNIDEN May 16, 2011
Reviewer: Greg from Washington, DC United States  
I have owned many scanners in my life and used to consider Radio Shack/GRE among the best.  However, this is the hardest radio to program I have ever seen or used.  I have tried it with both the Win-500 and ARC-500 software programs to no avail.  If you are retired and have a lot of time or your hands, this scanner might and I stress might be for you.  If you value your time and are not into getting a computer programming degree, buy the Uniden 996.  You will be much happier.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Worked Well X-Country November 2, 2010
Reviewer: Kieran O'Hagan from Carmel, NY United States  
I drove on a photo trip across I-90 from NY to Idaho and back, and there are several P25 statewide systems. The V Folders are a god send, as I just loaded several states and switched as I was driving across a state line. P25 decoding worked quite well, better than a Uniden 396 I had on another trip. I give it a 4 only because of the limited number of control channels per system, but at the same time, it makes you plan a little better. Putting an entire statewide system into one object can be overwhelming! Thanks GRE!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 


View Cart | My Account | Help


HQ and Store - Holliston, MA


Shipping Notice
All order placed after 10AM
on Wednesday (04/23/2014)
will ship on Thursday
(04/24/2014)