Return to Austin Spectra Mobile Antenna
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great antenna August 14, 2018
Reviewer: Noah Gladstone from Bensalem, PA United States  
This made an amazing difference in my reception with my SDS100. Brought in Philadelphia p25 system that the stock antenna could not do .

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Austin Spectra mobil ant September 26, 2017
Reviewer: Daniel McLaughlin from South Carolina United States  
Nicely made and for the most part quality. One thing poorly done is the connector tab from the ant. to the NMO. Unlike other ants Austin used a cheap metal tab to connect.  Other manufacturers use a spring loaded connector. If it were not for this it would be a great ant. I've used it on 2mtrs and 440 ham with pretty good results.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Don't go with cheaper alternatives. March 7, 2017
Reviewer: MH from in Maine  
For a wide spectrum antenna, this one is tough to beat for the money. I cannot speak for the lower VHF bands as I do not monitor them, but for the 140-170, 400 and 800 bands, this is worth the investment. For those seeking high quality engineering and performance, indoor, outdoor or mobile use, and sleek appearance, the Spectra is the one to buy.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Austin Spectra Mobile Antenna September 12, 2016
Reviewer: Arthur Patterson from Clearwater, FL United States  
over all a very good antenna, was hoping it would bring in some of the signals clearer as some of the reviews said.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Antenna works great July 23, 2015
Reviewer: rick kulmann from Wolcott, CT United States  
I just installed this antenna on my vehicle using the magnet mount and its used for a uniden 996xt scanner which i monitor low,uhf,vhf,800 ,and digital systems and it works great pulling in some faint signals.I was using a radio shack mobile magnet mount antenna and it worked good,but this one is much better.Just keep in mind several factors are involved when using a mobile antenna such as tall buildings in the area or high mountains and if you live in a valley area.no antenna is perfect when it comes to these types of factors,but you have a better chance of picking up all types of radio bands with this model antenna.i love it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Sweet antenna December 28, 2011
Reviewer: S. Hetzel from newport beach, CA United States  
This mobile antenna mounted on my roof of my vehicle works so great...chp VHF low 42mhz pulls great into my bc 15x. All bands sound amazing.   I did have to paint it flat black since copper was showing.  The antenna is made with quality parts and attention to detail.  I had to tune the low band for California highway patrol.  I give this antenna 5 stars.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Spectra for police? October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Tim Townsend from Seaside, CA United States  
I have this antenna and the one from Comtelco.  The Comtelco outperforms the Spectra at 155mhz where most police/fire channels are found on the west coast.  The Comtelco does need additional sealing as rain gets in past the rubber washer (minor problem).  I can't testify about the use of the antenna at other frequencies.

Was this review helpful to you?

  6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Best Antenna on the Market! July 29, 2011
Reviewer: Chris Terry from Auburn, CA, United States  
I've been using/installing scanners and two-way radios in a mobile environment for over 10 years.  I was looking for something that would perform well between 40mhz & 50mhz but still work reasonably well at uhf.   This antenna completely exceed my expectations, even out-performing my mono-band antenna.  

Following the instructions I tuned the antenna for 40-50mhz, which shortened the antenna by about 4 inches.  Friends you can't go wrong with this antenna.  It's a little more expensive than the others, but well worth every penny.  I plan on purchasing more for other vehicles in the fleet.

Was this review helpful to you?

  8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Good Mobile Antenna January 16, 2011
Reviewer: Kieran O'Hagan from Carmel, NY United States  
Five stars for five star performance. I am particularly impressed with the performance on the VHF Low band. Putnam Co fire still uses low band, and I have no problem hearing mobiles in the eastern half of the county. VHF Hi performance...listened to my sheriff department while I was out in Newington, a good fifty miles off. UHF and 800 performance is excellent as well. All around good all band antenna that served me well driving out to Idaho and back. A worthwhile investment for the serious mobile monitor.

Was this review helpful to you?