The Nationís Oldest and Largest Scanner-Only Dealer
1-800-SCANNER
Return to Uniden HomePatrol Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 6
Previous    Click to see more items


  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Scanner May 25, 2012
Reviewer: Ron from Westmoreland County, PA United States  
Pros: Great reception, easy to use, easy to read display, very well made, Huge database, Good audio, Digital Trunking capable.

Cons: Battery life, Extreme upgrade expensive



I would recommend buying the ARCPatrol software. it lets you add custom frequencies and lets you customize channels. Also I recommend getting a Radio Reference subscription . It will let you import frequencies  directly to your channel list on the ARCpatrol software list..

I would recommend this scanner to a friend .

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Performance April 24, 2012
Reviewer: Jerry Rossi from Mayfield, PA United States  
Dose not work as good as my cheap bc2000..battery on full charge gives less than 45 minutes run time ....plus you will get nickle and dimed to death for upgrades for a 500 dollar scanner all up grades is extra....clumsey to handle ....over priced..
you need to look at a hand held with same features......ok if you travel cross country and buy the expensive GPS stuff....
save your money or look elseware


Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
My Fears are Quelled March 29, 2012
Reviewer: JV from Santa Rosa, CA United States  
My HP arrived today, less than one week after order.  The set up and optimization was well worth it for me, unboxed it screwed on the antenna and have been listening ever since!  Hands down a better experience than the BC desktop and the BC 246 were.  I just needed to add "utilities" to the favorites the Scanner Master crew set up for me and I am one happy camper.  For simple good performing pleasure, it is worth every penny.  Also in the package: The Ram mount for the car is  of tremendous quality and the 18" Spectrumforce 201S mag mount antenna is unbelievable for its size.  Thank you Scanner Master.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
uniden home patrol March 8, 2012
Reviewer: kevin blanton from ridgeland, MS United States  
i have been a scanner nut since 1970 and i must say due to ease of use and voice quality this radio is INCREDIBLE! i was afraid since we live on the backside of a hill from our town that the signal might be blocked. it is on our rail scanners but not so with HOME PATROL! we are receiving signals from over 20 miles away.  I MUST SAY THOUGH please spend the extra $35.00 and let scanner master set it up for you before shipping. when i got it all i had to do was turn it on and havent touched it since. you tell them your zip and what you want to listen to and thats that! i see absolutely no downside to this radio. oh yes i almost forgot. i now receive all the trunked channels that before i couldnt receive. if you want the bang for your buck or the WOW FACTOR, this radio is it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Home Patrol-1 Extreme February 16, 2012
Reviewer: Darrell Taylor from Rising Sun, MD United States  
I bought a Home Patrol 1 from Scanner Master. I had to return it. Not because it was a bad unit... it was my physical location. No matter where I moved it in the house along with the Watson Nomad antenna I just could not capture a strong signal. Took the unit and antenna 4 doors up to a neighbor with a little more elevation and the HP-1 performed like a champ. It far exceeded my expectations in the first place. Called Scanner Master explained what I had done... and they agreed that my location sucks! We are going to try a BC996XT... more beefy receiver, a little more complex than the HP-1 to set up. With the 996 I xcan get down and dirty and manipulate the configuration with chokes and filters to reduce my location's RF.
Scanner Master is great to work with! Excellent product knowledge, Technically astitute, and a opleasure to work with... what more can I say! Butch Taylor "KB3OJO"

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Easy but limited February 14, 2012
Reviewer: John Angst from Durango, CO United States  
This Home Patrol is easy to get up and running but there are limitations.  The software does not work with a MAC.  You have to purchase the additional "Extreme" software to make it work like a normal scanner, otherwise the user has very limited options for additional programming.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Rating Home Patrol January 30, 2012
Reviewer: Gary from Hudson, NH United States  
Nice unit if you don't want to enter channels into your favorites list!  I have owned mine for just over 10 months, and it usually just sits on, on the table next to me.  Unfortunately I have had to send it back to Uniden twice, once in 9/11 and again in 1/2012 because it just stops receiving any signals.  Wish I would have purchased the 3396

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
HomePatrol January 4, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Wilton, CT United States  
Some nice features......but next to my Pro-197, HomePatrol sound quality and volume is poor as is the scan speed.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
HomePatrol Software (Sentinel) December 16, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
ArcPatrol is not the software supplied with the HomePatrol, Sentinel is. ArcPatrol is not owned by Uniden and while a capable product for creating and updating HomePatrol Favorites, Sentinel by itself is very capable of taking care of all the programming functions of the HomePatrol.

Was this review helpful to you?

  6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
Re:review December 11, 2011
Reviewer: Bob S from Arvada, CO United States  
Having had the Home Patrol for a week, I think its a good scanner, but it has much room for improvement, they could start with the ARC Patrol software. Then do something with the poor sound quality. I 've compared this scanner side by side with my other scanners and the sound is poor and not much volume. My next scanner will be the     BCD996xt, I have early version of this and it's great. I think the Home Patrol is great for travel but not a  base use scanner. PLEASE UNIDEN DO SOMETHING ABOUT YOUR SOFTWARE!!!! If you use this scanner in your car, you'll need a speaker.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Previous    Click to see more items