The Nationís Oldest and Largest Scanner-Only Dealer
1-800-SCANNER
Return to Uniden Bearcat BCD396XT Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 3
Previous    Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
bcd396xt February 24, 2014
Reviewer: robert mills from san diego, CA United States  
very complex to operate. slowly getting used to how to operate and use the menu. having trouble setting the squelch and also using the lock out function key, yes as the simple manual say's you need a quick hand.reception with the stock antenna is more adequate for my location. I satisfied with the scanner and with more use I will become more  familiar with all it's operational capabilities.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD396XT January 9, 2014
Reviewer: Warren Hardman from Lochbuie, CO United States  
Better than expected! Works great and Scanner Master programming was right on.
The only negative is the lack of a printed manual. I tried the cd and had no luck with it.


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD369XT September 25, 2013
Reviewer: Bob Murray from Manchester, NH United States  
I love this radio.It's a high quality radio I would recommend this unit to anyone.....

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
For Beginner? August 17, 2013
Reviewer: Randy Carothers from Rockwall, TX United States  
First of all I have zero back ground in scanners. I wanted a simple scanner however needed a trunked and digital one for my area. Simple and trunked digital appear to be mutually exclusive terms since I guess these are pretty much state of the art at his point.  On kind of a "hope" I decided to go ahead and let Scanner Master program the 396 for my area but figured that would add several weeks to the order and I would have to reprogram.  Boom, I get the email saying it has shipped and few days latter it arrives. I plugged it in and another boom. Scanner Master programmers had put each jurisdiction in my area on a seperate key so I can scan one or all with the push of a button! I would actually call that plug and play and was up and running in less than five minutes.  So if you are intimidated at all by the complexity just let Scanner Master program your scanner. You can then take your time figuring out how to launch cruise missles with it. Highly satisfied.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
we won 2 bcd396xlt's July 23, 2013
Reviewer: Rohn Daughtry from Pink Hill, NC United States  
my wife and each have one. we both enjoy them very much.  use the software to program them. it will make life much more fun!  also, download the "easier to read " manual off the net. do not waste your time on the cd manual.  i have been an electronic tech for years, have 2 degrees in electronincs and a ham radio op for almost 20 years, and the cd manual was useless to me.
if you use the radio alot buy another charger (at least one for the car)  the radio does eat battteries.
all in all , have not had this much fun with a radio in years.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Love this better than my radio shack April 2, 2012
Reviewer: Aram Attarashany from Renton, WA United States  
In the last 4 months or so that I've owned this canner, I have been nothing but satisfied. My old scanner was making me old because it was not very "metro area friendly." On this one, I've only monitored local Motorola systems so can't talk about any other system experience.

You really have to know what you're doing and it's recommended that you pick up "Scanners for Dummies" to learn the methods of radio communication.

The scanner is a lot easier to use, supports more than one site, and it's way easier to switch talkgroups on this not to mention number tagging.

Alpha tagging is a chore since you have to turn the scroll knob on top of the radio. I would have prefered keystrokes like on a phone and using the knob to turn the cursor.

Otherwise, splendid work Uniden. I knew I could count on you!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Buy it... October 6, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Smyrna, TN United States  
I have had mine for a while now and it performs really well. No problems with VHF high band reception as previous poster mentioned. Most of what I monitor is VHF and I'm picking up CSX rail comms from a great distance, not to mention it's ability to pull in VHF signals from nearby counties. Runs all day on a full charge, and that's with the light activating on squelch.
Computer programming is recommended, however - you will benefit from learning how to tweak it and program manually on the go.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
garbage August 22, 2011
Reviewer: Me12943 from Keene Valley, NY United States  
scannermaster page recommended for my area and i find out we dont have any digital.dont work sent to uniden and its been at uniden for 3  weeks now for repair and now waiting on parts from uniden and it says another 15 bussiness days or more for parts..this is not a good scanner if you require vhf high band ..check out the reviews for this scanner on radioreferance.com where uniden support tells you to go and find answers before requsting a service order... this link is a forum on the horrible repair that uniden has http://forums.radioreference.com/rants/167660-uniden-repair-horrible.html
and this is the link on the BCD396XT problems everyone has
http://forums.radioreference.com/uniden-scanners/217051-bcd396xt-losing-reception.html
also
future firmware support and updates have been terminated in 2010 for this scanner as uniden promotes its new HOME PATROL 1 which also has its complaints..
http://forums.radioreference.com/uniden-scanners/219375-future-tdma-bcd396-996xt-upman.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Next Generation Scanner January 19, 2011
Reviewer: Aaron Siller from Houston, TX United States  
well uniden has done it again it just keeps getting better i use to buy rs scanners not anymore i love all the features especially FTO and the multi color display makes it easier to know the type of agency that is talking without trying to read it i would recommend this and its sister the BCD396XT

Was this review helpful to you?

  5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD396XT January 12, 2011
Reviewer: Richard Messick from Salisbury, NC United States  
This little scanner is well worth the money a little powerhouse! I had tried 2 other digital scanners including a radio shack pro model and the reception wasn't good at all so i returned them. I bought this scanner and installed a ANTENEX EXR821BN antenna Excellent Reception and compact to carry. My order and programing was very prompt. Excellent service and scanner. Thanks guys i will do my business here in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Previous    Click to see more items