The Nationís Oldest and Largest Scanner-Only Dealer
1-800-SCANNER
Return to Uniden Bearcat BCD396XT Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 2
Previous   


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Love this better than my radio shack April 2, 2012
Reviewer: Aram Attarashany from Renton, WA United States  
In the last 4 months or so that I've owned this canner, I have been nothing but satisfied. My old scanner was making me old because it was not very "metro area friendly." On this one, I've only monitored local Motorola systems so can't talk about any other system experience.

You really have to know what you're doing and it's recommended that you pick up "Scanners for Dummies" to learn the methods of radio communication.

The scanner is a lot easier to use, supports more than one site, and it's way easier to switch talkgroups on this not to mention number tagging.

Alpha tagging is a chore since you have to turn the scroll knob on top of the radio. I would have prefered keystrokes like on a phone and using the knob to turn the cursor.

Otherwise, splendid work Uniden. I knew I could count on you!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Buy it... October 6, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Smyrna, TN United States  
I have had mine for a while now and it performs really well. No problems with VHF high band reception as previous poster mentioned. Most of what I monitor is VHF and I'm picking up CSX rail comms from a great distance, not to mention it's ability to pull in VHF signals from nearby counties. Runs all day on a full charge, and that's with the light activating on squelch.
Computer programming is recommended, however - you will benefit from learning how to tweak it and program manually on the go.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
garbage August 22, 2011
Reviewer: Me12943 from Keene Valley, NY United States  
scannermaster page recommended for my area and i find out we dont have any digital.dont work sent to uniden and its been at uniden for 3  weeks now for repair and now waiting on parts from uniden and it says another 15 bussiness days or more for parts..this is not a good scanner if you require vhf high band ..check out the reviews for this scanner on radioreferance.com where uniden support tells you to go and find answers before requsting a service order... this link is a forum on the horrible repair that uniden has http://forums.radioreference.com/rants/167660-uniden-repair-horrible.html
and this is the link on the BCD396XT problems everyone has
http://forums.radioreference.com/uniden-scanners/217051-bcd396xt-losing-reception.html
also
future firmware support and updates have been terminated in 2010 for this scanner as uniden promotes its new HOME PATROL 1 which also has its complaints..
http://forums.radioreference.com/uniden-scanners/219375-future-tdma-bcd396-996xt-upman.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Next Generation Scanner January 19, 2011
Reviewer: Aaron Siller from Houston, TX United States  
well uniden has done it again it just keeps getting better i use to buy rs scanners not anymore i love all the features especially FTO and the multi color display makes it easier to know the type of agency that is talking without trying to read it i would recommend this and its sister the BCD396XT

Was this review helpful to you?

  5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD396XT January 12, 2011
Reviewer: Richard Messick from Salisbury, NC United States  
This little scanner is well worth the money a little powerhouse! I had tried 2 other digital scanners including a radio shack pro model and the reception wasn't good at all so i returned them. I bought this scanner and installed a ANTENEX EXR821BN antenna Excellent Reception and compact to carry. My order and programing was very prompt. Excellent service and scanner. Thanks guys i will do my business here in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent Device Added this one to the Pro 106 January 12, 2011
Reviewer: Aaron Martin from Spartanburg, SC United States  
It depends on the needs but this device once programmed properly meets and exceeds the customer expectations. The Trunking tracking is perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD396XT October 11, 2010
Reviewer: Sean Fitzgerald from Tuckerton, NJ United States  
Everything that the manual didnt cover this article did!!! It has all of the necessary tricks etc...

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good scanner July 26, 2010
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Europe  
We have a lack of such good things here in Europe as the 396xt European version is not out yet. Very nice to own the scanner you really need.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
396xt June 22, 2010
Reviewer: michael connell from franklin, MA United States  
Hi all,I have been scanning since I was in a cradle (ww2 tank sets) and have owned so many scanners to me it is a part of my every day life .I now own and use 8 scanners.I have 5 uniden models and purchased a 396xt about 2 weeks ago.it has all the improvements over my 996.but I am NOT IMPRESSED with the volume / squelch control set up and the speaker sounds like your listening through a sea shell it is terrible!,forget the user manual as well. I had read the reviews and did not think the "big 3"(volume,squlch & speaker) would be that bad but I stand corrected,you use them every time you use the scanner if I ever purchase another scanner I will look long and hard before putting out my hard earned money no matter how much I enjoy scanning.heed my message and you may not be as disapointed  in "THE NEXT BIG THING"as I am,good luck keep scanning,MIKE

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fantastic radio April 28, 2010
Reviewer: Enthusiast from Central OH United States  
I've had this radio for just a few weeks now, and I'm very happy with the quality and features that were built into it. It is a complicated little radio and the software option is real helpful in setting it up. Will probably take me 1-2 more months to really get to know the operation well, but it's understandable as complex as it is. Believe me, the use of the word "programming" in setting up the radio is no trivial choice of words. Yes, it's a tad expensive compared to most. But the (inverted) saying would be; "You don't get what you don't pay for". The only downside (imnsho) is that the manual is on CD and is not very well written. Thanks Scanner Master, for great (shipping) service. 2-days, wow!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Previous