The Nationís Oldest and Largest Scanner-Only Dealer
1-800-SCANNER
Return to SpectrumForce Wideband Antenna with Mag Mount and BNC
Sort By::
Page of 3
Previous    Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
So far, great antenna April 11, 2013
Reviewer: Steve from Providence, RI United States  
I picked up this antenna to improve the reception in my truck, instead of having to rely on the 800MHz antenna I've been using with my GRE PSR 500.

Install was pretty straightforward. I took off the high-mount tail light and routed the cable into the cab and through the roof liner. Here's where I found a problem with the antenna: it's not long enough for my application, even though my truck is only a king cab. That just means that I had to route the cable under the driver's seat instead of behind the console and then between the front seats.

As for reception, it's certainly better than the rubber ducky. While an 800MHz-dedicated antenna would likely do better, for the small sum of money needed to purchase this antenna, it's worth it. The magnet is small and unobtrusive (unlike the old RS wide-band antenna I used to use), and that makes it stand out less.

Overall, I'd recommend this antenna as an affordable alternative to the smaller antenna that comes with portable radios.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Mediocre antenna November 15, 2012
Reviewer: P M from CA  
Pros:
-Small magnet sticks good
-Small profile and flexible if you hit trees

Cons:
-Connection inside base of antenna where coax cable is split into center pin/sheild is not well made
-Flexibility creates fluttering signal reception noticable in audio if signal isn't local

If you feel the antenna isn't working well, it might not be the design; the connections inside may have gotten twisted/loose/torn/etc.  Mine became weak at first but continued to function, then gradually got worse until antenna did not work at all and had to throw it away.  This antenna is not good for installing/removing from a vehicle as this is what causes the broken connections.  Defeats the purpose of having a mag mount.  By the way, I take VERY good care of my belongings.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Antenna October 30, 2012
Reviewer: Emanuel Gerakios from Cullowhee, NC United States  
Bought this antenna a few months ago my scanner is picking up frequencies 50 miles from home,well worth the price!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great for the price. September 25, 2012
Reviewer: Chris from Clifton, NJ United States  
I'm sure this antenna is bested by many others, but for the price, this antenna is great.  It seems as if frequencies I've listened to while on-the-go with just a rubber ducky have improved a couple of notches...nothing too extravagant, but hey, the antenna is $20.  

The antenna length, in my opinion, is a few feet too short.  12' didn't cut it for the install in my VW Jetta.  Routing all the wires from the trunk to the front of the car while hiding/tucking the wires came short at the front passenger seat.  Also, the wire is a RG178, which is a thin coaxial wire that is hard to find in local stores.  Ordered extra wire from another website.    

The magnet is very misleading.  It looks tiny and weak, but on the contrary...the antenna sticks strongly to my car, tested at 65+MPH.

Other than that, the antenna is great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
This antenna is small but pulls in TONS of signal September 18, 2012
Reviewer: Derick Gray from Greenville, NC United States  
This antenna is not as large as most of the others out there on the market... but it really does the job for me listening with it on the road.. I have a Home Patrol and it does great!! I would really recommend this one! I know it pulls in for over 20 miles!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice little antenna June 25, 2012
Reviewer: Keith from Richmond, VA  
This a great little antenna. It survived Hurricane Irene in Virginia last year, completely intact, while attached to the truck lid of Toyota Corolla. Overall durability excellent.  Great reception for the dollar.  It does better than the rubber duckie antenna that it replaced for my hand held scanner that I use in the car in a semi-permanent installation.  I would recommend this antenna for any mobile application that is budget oriented and needs to increase their listening range by 20-30 miles or so.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Product March 5, 2012
Reviewer: Oscar from CT United States  
I ordered this last week and it was here within 5 days. It is great for the price. The little magnet may seem weak but is VERY VERY strong, holds up at high speeds great. Have it hooked up to my Bearcat BC355C and it works great. As a volunteer firefighter it is annoying when your scanner cuts in and out when trying to listen but with this antenna it hasn't happened, even at 30+ miles away from town. Will recommend to others.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great antenna for the price! March 26, 2011
Reviewer: Karen Coffee from Chapel Hill, NC United States  
-Reception is very good (especially for the size).  Everything from 2M band to 900MHz Motorola systems come in fine.  I listen to many 30+ miles away.

-Magnet is quite strong, actually kind of hard to get back off of roof!  (Good thing!)

-Coax cable length is good, closing the door on it works fine.

-BNC connection is secure, not wobbly.

-Don't go cranking down the screw on the antenna, I can see some people trying to tighten too much.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great little antenna March 19, 2011
Reviewer: KF7YN from West Jordan, UT United States  
I've had this antenna on my truck for 15 months and never a problem.

I travel a lot in the wide open spaces of Utah where the speed limit is 75 & 80 MPH, the tiny magnet holds firm. This little guy works great on VHF Hi, UHF and 800 MHz.

I just ordered another for my car.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great little product December 3, 2010
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
In my humble Opinion:

This product is a definitive improvement over any antenna you can have inside your vehicle.

Small size and mag mount make it easy to install and transfer between vehicles and even apartment window sills :)
It is also very low profile which is a pro in certain applications.

I would not use this for a permanent installation, it is a bit flimsy and reception is not that great.

Considering the price this is a perfect product for part time enthusiasts look to improve all round reception.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Previous    Click to see more items