Return to Whistler WS1040 Digital Handheld Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Whistler Hand Held Scanner November 6, 2017
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Bayfield, CO United States  
This is a good scanner, but will not hold a charge. I have used new batteries and followed all directions, but still won't run more than two hours on batteries. I'm returning it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
The best all around scanner radio made right now. August 27, 2017
Reviewer: Scott from Somerset, WI  
I've owned all 4 variants of this scanner and I would have to say it is my "go to" radio for the best all around performance.  The only drawbacks are lack of phase 2 capability and the need to be programmed via 3rd party software.  I've never tried to program it by hand, but it can be done.  Once you master programming this radio via PC, you will know how to program any radio out there.  I usually travel with at least two radios and this is always one of them.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great scanner ! March 7, 2017
Reviewer: Ryan Fish from Heath, OH United States  
I recently got this scanner so I can monitor the Ohio MARCS-IP system. The system is mostly 700 MHz with some occasional 800 MHz in there with the rare 900 MHz as well. This scanner is capable of receiving them all. I dropped my Pro 651 and went with this scanner as they are exactly alike. I got the Remtronix 700-900 MHz antenna awhile back and it is a HUGE improvement over the rubber duck antenna. The audio on this scanner is great. First time I was listening I had to turn the volume down a little bit. I programmed mine manually because I don't have a computer so basically I just listened to all of the frequencies from 700-960 MHz and whatever had audio on it I wrote them down and went from there. Backlight on it is great as well and I like the multiple colors you can use for police and fire and whatever else you want to use them for. Also a great scanner for blockwatch.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Whistler 1040 March 4, 2017
Reviewer: Tim Michalski from Middleton, MA United States  
Very awesome company to order from.Bought 3 scanners from them through the year's.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
whistler vs grecom April 29, 2016
Reviewer: Patty Beck from Henderson, NV United States  
This is a great scanner. Reception is much better than with the grecom desktop. Clear signal most of the time. Of course you have to move it around to get the best location but it is amazing compared to the older types. Difficult to program or change which is why I had Scanner master do it for me.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Whistler vs. GRE products April 3, 2015
Reviewer: James Hoard from Uxbridge, MA United States  
On the basis of Scanner Master representative Jonathan Higgins product evaluation, I purchased two WS-1040 portable digital scanners. I was sorry to see that GRE closed its doors and wanted some units that were comparable to GRE's quality and software. I am pleased to report that Whistler has delivered on both counts.  Its products are not manufactured in China so the quality is there. The units are very sensitive and can be programmed by hand when in the field as well as with a PC. As an added bonus, I found Whistler's tech support to be superior and available. I called the main switchboard and was routed to an on duty technician who then conferenced me in with a senior engineer who answered all on my questions. Thank you Scanner Master and Jonathan Higgins for the excellent advice on purchasing these tow units.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Whistler Ws1040 Hand Held Scanner February 27, 2015
Reviewer: Rory A.Stevens from Oxnard, CA United States  
Well i bought one and it is suppose to be a great
Radio "but" i can't really tell anybody anything
about it ,I sent it back to scanner master to home
programing support team so they can,program my favorite counties into it with all the paperwork
Scanner Master Required.the Ws 1040 looks like a Nice Scanner ,i will report my finding later after Scanner Master Returns my Scanner
to me and i been able to use it.
until then.
have a great day !

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Not enough power February 21, 2015
Reviewer: Tim Coulter from Helena, MT United States  
After purchasing this scanner and an upgraded antenna, I am barely able to hear anything, occasionally I can hear part of a conversation.  Looks like after purchasing this scanner my next purchase will be a BIG antenna.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Hand Held Scanner. September 8, 2014
Reviewer: Ronald Parsons from Kirksville, MO United States  
I have the same scanner. But it is radio shack PRO 106.

Was this review helpful to you?