Low Price Guarantee

Programming Form
Media Systems
Restoration
Remote Monitoring
Wholesale & Govt
Online Scanners
Frequencies
Gift Certificates
Help Desk
About Us
Our Blog
FAQ

  Website Features
Official PayPal Seal
Click here for BBB Business Review
(Your shopping cart is empty)
Return to x-GRE PSR-500 Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
First GRE radio July 27, 2012
Reviewer: Roger Pierce from Exeter, RI United States  
Nice radio.I got this mainly for trunking.Using a RS 800MHz antenna in lieu of the standard rubber ducky has made a great improvement on the reception end.Using the ARC software made it easy to program.If there is a weakness in this radio I would have to say the quality in sound when the volume is up.Maybe it is just my preference but it sounds a bit tinny to me.But for the price you cannot beat this radio.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
My first scanner and im overjoyed! July 24, 2012
Reviewer: E Kennon from Memphis, TN United States  
I just received this scanner today with hometown programming. All I had to do was plug it in, turn it on and start listening. Scannermaster is the best.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
First digital scanner May 28, 2012
Reviewer: Brian A from Cottage Grove, OR United States  
While I'm not new to radio, I am new to digital scanning. This receiver is not only a joy to own, but also to operate. The object-oriented scanning paradigm is great, and much more flexible than traditional static banked systems. (I wish shortwave radios came with this feature!). Even without Win500, which admittedly I did eventually purchase, programming is a breeze. I picked most of it up without even cracking the manual.  

The only cons I've noted relate to the unit's case. The removable belt loop clip broke on me after about a week, and my battery compartment cover fits so loosely I was worried I'd lose it. Fortunately these are both replaceable parts, and both gripes are also moot now that I have purchased a case.  

All in all, a great portable scanner simply packed with features. I take mine everywhere, and love knowing what's going on around me.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
outstanding radio April 18, 2011
Reviewer: Andrew Ellis from Calgary, AB Canada  
I purchased this radio almost a year ago and did alot of research before I did. I was new to scanning and the object oriented way of programming makes this radio a joy to own. I have travelled all over canada and have had absolutely no issues with reception. Excellent radio.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best scanner I've ever owned!!! March 26, 2011
Reviewer: Karen Coffee from Chapel Hill, NC United States  
This thing is amazing...  Reception is awesome, especially when receiving weaker digital signals.  Follows trunking systems like a champ.  Programming is so easy with included USB cable and your choice of programming software (I use Win500).  The whole object-oriented memory thing is so nice once you get used to it.  Finally, being able to charge batteries in the scanner is great.  Backlight and RGB LED are perfect - finally a nice bright backlight!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
GRE PSR 500 March 11, 2011
Reviewer: David Whitten from Waco, TX United States  
When I monitor the Greater Austin/Travis Regional Radio System, GATRRS with my GRE PSR 500, I use the RS 800 mhz antenna without problems.  The reception is incredible.  I have no problems hearing most agencies when visiting Austin and the surrounding cities with the exception of Georgetown, Texas.  Georgetown & Leander are the only two using encryption in the area.  If I am in the automobile, I use my mobile antenna.  I love this radio.

Was this review helpful to you?

  8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
GRE 500 P25 Performance Austin Area September 28, 2010
Reviewer: Nick Velado from Austin, TX United States  
I just decided to switch from my Uniden 396T to the GRE-500 because of the unbearable poor digital P25 reception in the Austin area on this model. The GRE500 is performing hundreds times better, and the audio is much clearer.  To my (major) surprise, I tried both the RS 800MHz antenna, and 2.5dB gain antenna advertised on this site, and both performed POORLY over the stock antenna.  When stationary, the scanner receives most transmissions flawlessly.  There are a few spots in my home where I need to avoid.  When on the road, it is a bit troublesome still using the rubber ducky.  Still have troubles hearing in my area (Pflugerville) when mobile, which is quite far from the transmitter.  After finally deciding to actually read the instructions, it made sense, and is much more intuitve than the Uniden, I think.  The GRE works more like a traditional scanner, where you can easily enable and disable banks, and move side to side in manual mode to get to a "group" quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 


View Cart | My Account | Help


HQ and Store - Holliston, MA


Shipping Notice
All order placed after 10AM
on Wednesday (04/23/2014)
will ship on Thursday
(04/24/2014)