Return to Uniden Bearcat SDS100 Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Uniden SDS100 Purchase January 2, 2019
Reviewer: Charles Hill from LaGrange, GA United States  
I purchased a SDS100 from Scanner Master in December.  I received the scanner on time with no problems.  Unit worked as advertised and am very happy with my purchase.  This is the second scanner I have bought from Scanner Master and am very please with them.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Sds 100 December 29, 2018
Reviewer: Kenneth Grimard from Turner, ME United States  
Works great took a bit of getting used to it


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
SDS-100 December 25, 2018
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from St Louis, MO United States  
I can not properly evaluate the sds-100 yet because I have not been able to actually "use" it. All I have done in four weeks (because of personal life issues) is use the zip code function and listen to what is preprogrammed for my zip. I will say that the speaker is pretty poor and the volume related to the speaker kinda sucks. The VHF hi band sounds "borderline". Sorry neither good nor bad. And I have not heard enough to evaluate the trunking simulcast issues yet. I will say that I am scared to death to try and program "favorites" because what I have read so far, it seems to be an added and wasteful step in programing systems. My 396xt and 996xt work just fine without being in a favorites list. Sorry I can't seem to help you all too much. I am really on the fence as to whether my $800 was well spent or not.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
SDS100 December 4, 2018
Reviewer: XN4Sir from Madison, MS United States  
So, you want a scanner that can do it all? The Uniden SDS100 is probably your best bet. There is a learning curve is set a little high if you aren’t already used to using the Sentinel software. The good news is there are plenty of folks on radioreference.com that are willing to guide you through it.

The SDS100 itself has all the bells and whistles you can imagine. NXDN, DMR, P25 phase I and II, etc.  obviously, you won’t be able to receive encrypted broadcasts. It can even hookup to a GPS receiver if you take it in the road and want to keep up with everything happening nearby.

The only downfall is the price tag which Scanner Master has brought down to a price tag that is competitive with any other retailer. You pay for the engineering that went into this technological marvel. There are also the upgrades. For NXDN, DMR, and ProVoice you’ll have to pay a little extra.

Overall, I’m pleased. Big price tag for a lot packed into a small scanner.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
UNIDEN SDS 100 October 24, 2018
Reviewer: Dennis Blauvelt from Westminster, MD United States  
Awesome radio!

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
Gave up trying to program October 5, 2018
Reviewer: Michael Dever from Canyon Lake, TX United States  
Good scanner, but very difficult for me to program.  After watching many online videos, I gave up and ordered a preprogrammed chip from your company.  It is receiving about half what I would like to hear, but a much more detailed manual is needed.  I am retired security/video system designer and have programmed video and access systems over 1000 cameras and card readers networked world wide, and, using the supplied documentation, they were much easier to understand than the SDS100 manual. This scanner really needs an " SDS100 Manual for Dummies" that is at least as good as an iPhone book.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Uniden SDS100 October 1, 2018
Reviewer: Robert Jackson from England, AR United States  
I have used scanner radios since the time they were on a dial to the radios you would have to purchase crystals for each individual frequency. Additionally, I have utilized professional radio equipment for the last 30 plus years. This particular radio exhibits great workmanship and provides access to all the services of interest to me. I recommend it highly as quality communications equipment.

Was this review helpful to you?

  7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good, Bad, No Ugly September 25, 2018
Reviewer: Rob from Ormond Beach, FL  
The SDS-100 is a nice evolution from the 436/536.  A huge plus is that the programming software from the 436/536 platform can be used on the SDS-100.  

The SDS-100 claim is better reception of simulcast systems.    My experience  is that it is definitely a notable improvement  

Battery life still isn't as good as the TRX-1, but it is absolutely acceptable.  Additionally, the new battery provides a stable platform.

The multi-color display provides  endless options for how/what information you want presented.  

Two downsides.  First, the speaker is horrible.  The fidelity is awful.  The unit has plenty of audio power, but it can easily overdrive the "tinny" sounding speaker at higher volumes.  

Secondly, the antenna connector is slightly recessed into the unit.  For those wishing to use aftermarket antennas with higher gain or specific frequencies, you'll need to use an adapter.  

Fix the speaker and I'd give it a solid five.  But, until then, its four stars.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
great radio September 14, 2018
Reviewer: Dennis from saginaw, MI United States  
I wrote a review but have since changed it, over the weekend I ran into issues and could not figure them out, but, Monday morning came and I contacted scanner master to see if there was any help for me, and there was, on both issues and both have been resolved. with that being said, this is a great radio and though it can be frustrating to learn it is well worth it! the simplest things can be the hardest to figure out, but once you do, lol you feel great and the sun shines again!


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
SDS100 - Scanner Perfection (or close to it) August 9, 2018
Reviewer: Chris from Georgia  
I have been scanning since the mid 80s, and have extensive SDR engineering experience personally - this Scanner is what I have been waiting for.   No regrets on purchases, and I have no problem paying for decoders for new protocols - thats how SDR should work.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items