Return to Uniden Bearcat BCD436HP Police Scanner
Sort By::
Page of 6
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
good job on this scanner April 14, 2017
Reviewer: Gary Clark from worthington, OH United States  
It worked right away after programing zipcode   it will not charge batterys

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD436HP January 16, 2017
Reviewer: David Leslie from Indian Trail, NC  
Users must avoid A LOT to receive what is actually wanted. Favorites lists are a MUST and a Windows computer is essential. If you live between sites and/or in a hole, any rubber ducky antenna is not effective. SM programming is a waste of money. Do it yourself via computer. Other bad, batteries don't last long, back light is on or off it doesn't come on with lock on. Batteries don't charge unless scanner is OFF even when connected to a computer. Software is not all that user friendly, but usable. SM customer service was not friendly and wait times were long. Go to  youtube for guidance. SM blog seems to be helpful. Overall the BCD436HP is a really good scanner (for 2014 technology). I expect the next generation to be more user friendly, download updates via wifi automatically, backlight with lock on, usable with Apple ios, charge when scanning, scan while accessing the data base. It's all in the chip! Reception can only be enhanced by an antenna. Waiting for the next gen.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great but expensive September 27, 2016
Reviewer: Kevin Kilmer from Vincennes, IN United States  
Scanner performed as advertised right from the box. However, my county added new talk groups which required me to return it for programming and the purchase of upgrades to the tune of more than $100. If you're a DIYer look at Radio Shack.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
New Scanner September 9, 2016
Reviewer: B. Wayne Couch from Lebanon, OH United States  
Scanner is a little complicated to figure out but it does everything. Great Scanner

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
UnidenBCD436Hp July 27, 2016
Reviewer: mark vitale from east boston, MA United States  
This is the Best scanner I ever owned I been listening to police radios for over 30 years

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
My first scanner July 20, 2016
Reviewer: Geraldine Nylund from Green Bay, WI United States  
My first scanner.  Manuals are not much help because terminology is not defined so I had to do a lot of googling.  Managed to figure out the basics.   I bought a new antenna (radio shack 800 mhz) which helped a little but there's still some voice dropout making it hard to figure out some calls.  May be environmental problem though, not the fault of the scanner.  

We keep it plugged in since the batteries it came with only last an hour.  

For new scanner owners: I do recommend it, but be patient and google for more info on terms used in the manuals.  ScannerMaster will help you (I talked to them on phone for advice). Also, use marksscanners.com for more help.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Uniden America policy... June 27, 2016
Reviewer: Roberto Canč from Northern Italy, E.U.  
Well, thanks to its hardware, the BCD436HP could have been the best digital handheld scanner ever, but its firmware has never been truly debugged despite many updates since its release, and that still impairs the scanner's operations in the Low VHF band, as well as in the UHF band in discovery mode, plus several other bugs and missing features.
Furthermore, the Uniden America policy doesn't allow the non-US customers to purchase a DMR key, forcing either most of overseas customers, and all the non-US based people who were waiting for DMR-capable scanners in order to decide which model to get, to choose mandatorily a Whistler scanner.
There are much more radio hobbysts and security personnel Worldwide rather than inside the US, I suppose.
Maybe Uniden America hasn't thought of that...?
I hope Uniden Japan will adopt severe measures after realizing how many customers Uniden America will lose that way...


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
BCD436HP June 4, 2016
Reviewer: dave cary from mason city, IA United States  
HAVENT HAD A SCANNER FOR ABOUT 10 YRS    ITS A VERY GOOD ONE BUT VERY HARD TO FIGURE OUT

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great choice April 26, 2016
Reviewer: from ,  
Easy to use

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Perfect Scanner April 21, 2016
Reviewer: Norman Tolden from Texas City, TX United States  
What a great scanner worked right out of the box. With all this scanner can do you really don't need any other scanner. My area police depts moved to P25 and this scanner picked them right up with just entering my zip-code
I do recommend taking  the time to read the manual and do the steps one at a time with your scanner. The manual really isn't that hard to understand just be patient.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items