The Nationís Oldest and Largest Scanner-Only Dealer
1-800-SCANNER
Return to SpectrumForce Wideband Antenna with Mag Mount and BNC
Sort By::
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Versatile, high performer, great value January 6, 2014
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Austin, TX United States  
I have used this antenna on the following applications:
- car mount for 2M 70cm 33cm ham tranceive
- car mount for VHF/UHF scanning
- indoor mount on metal cabinet for 800 MHz feed

It stays put up to 90mph. Parking garages are no problem. Transceive on 900Mhz ham as well as mobile scanning is better than a duck.

Its currently atop a file cabinet providing a 800MHz feed on RadioReference and working great.

I analyzed its performance. Its SWR is ~1.4:1 on 2M & 70 cm ham bands. VHF air is 2.7:1. VHF and UHF commercial bands are ~1.9:1. Other bands are ~3:1-4:1.

Seems good for transceive 2M and 70cm and 33cm ham bands. Use 10W or less to be safe. Good for improving performance of an HT over a rubber duck.

Bottom line: for the size and price this one is hard to beat. Great value.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great product/price! October 21, 2013
Reviewer: George Miller from Cincinnati, OH United States  
When I ordered this antenna I was not sure what to expect but for the price, $19.95, I thought what the heck. Boy am I surprised! The antenna has stayed on at speeds well exceeding the legal highway limits and gets every bit the reception of antenna's costing more, much more. Looks great, clears garage ceilings even on my mini van. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with this antenna

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
SpectrumForce Wideband Antenna September 3, 2013
Reviewer: Richard Blake from Rochester, NH United States  
Not only is this a great receiving antenna don't know why but I'm able to transmit on the 2mm band ham radio and connect to repeater 40 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
So far, great antenna April 11, 2013
Reviewer: Steve from Providence, RI United States  
I picked up this antenna to improve the reception in my truck, instead of having to rely on the 800MHz antenna I've been using with my GRE PSR 500.

Install was pretty straightforward. I took off the high-mount tail light and routed the cable into the cab and through the roof liner. Here's where I found a problem with the antenna: it's not long enough for my application, even though my truck is only a king cab. That just means that I had to route the cable under the driver's seat instead of behind the console and then between the front seats.

As for reception, it's certainly better than the rubber ducky. While an 800MHz-dedicated antenna would likely do better, for the small sum of money needed to purchase this antenna, it's worth it. The magnet is small and unobtrusive (unlike the old RS wide-band antenna I used to use), and that makes it stand out less.

Overall, I'd recommend this antenna as an affordable alternative to the smaller antenna that comes with portable radios.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Mediocre antenna November 15, 2012
Reviewer: P M from CA  
Pros:
-Small magnet sticks good
-Small profile and flexible if you hit trees

Cons:
-Connection inside base of antenna where coax cable is split into center pin/sheild is not well made
-Flexibility creates fluttering signal reception noticable in audio if signal isn't local

If you feel the antenna isn't working well, it might not be the design; the connections inside may have gotten twisted/loose/torn/etc.  Mine became weak at first but continued to function, then gradually got worse until antenna did not work at all and had to throw it away.  This antenna is not good for installing/removing from a vehicle as this is what causes the broken connections.  Defeats the purpose of having a mag mount.  By the way, I take VERY good care of my belongings.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Antenna October 30, 2012
Reviewer: Emanuel Gerakios from Cullowhee, NC United States  
Bought this antenna a few months ago my scanner is picking up frequencies 50 miles from home,well worth the price!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great for the price. September 25, 2012
Reviewer: Chris from Clifton, NJ United States  
I'm sure this antenna is bested by many others, but for the price, this antenna is great.  It seems as if frequencies I've listened to while on-the-go with just a rubber ducky have improved a couple of notches...nothing too extravagant, but hey, the antenna is $20.  

The antenna length, in my opinion, is a few feet too short.  12' didn't cut it for the install in my VW Jetta.  Routing all the wires from the trunk to the front of the car while hiding/tucking the wires came short at the front passenger seat.  Also, the wire is a RG178, which is a thin coaxial wire that is hard to find in local stores.  Ordered extra wire from another website.    

The magnet is very misleading.  It looks tiny and weak, but on the contrary...the antenna sticks strongly to my car, tested at 65+MPH.

Other than that, the antenna is great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
This antenna is small but pulls in TONS of signal September 18, 2012
Reviewer: Derick Gray from Greenville, NC United States  
This antenna is not as large as most of the others out there on the market... but it really does the job for me listening with it on the road.. I have a Home Patrol and it does great!! I would really recommend this one! I know it pulls in for over 20 miles!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice little antenna June 25, 2012
Reviewer: Keith from Richmond, VA  
This a great little antenna. It survived Hurricane Irene in Virginia last year, completely intact, while attached to the truck lid of Toyota Corolla. Overall durability excellent.  Great reception for the dollar.  It does better than the rubber duckie antenna that it replaced for my hand held scanner that I use in the car in a semi-permanent installation.  I would recommend this antenna for any mobile application that is budget oriented and needs to increase their listening range by 20-30 miles or so.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Product March 5, 2012
Reviewer: Oscar from CT United States  
I ordered this last week and it was here within 5 days. It is great for the price. The little magnet may seem weak but is VERY VERY strong, holds up at high speeds great. Have it hooked up to my Bearcat BC355C and it works great. As a volunteer firefighter it is annoying when your scanner cuts in and out when trying to listen but with this antenna it hasn't happened, even at 30+ miles away from town. Will recommend to others.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items